Find the start and end dates of terms. Deadlines for adding and dropping classes, and dates for advising recess and school breaks.

 

2023 Fall Semester | 2024 Spring Semester | 2024 Summer Semester

2023 Fall Semester

Events 16–week semester, 7–week half-semesters 8–week accelerated term 4–week intensive
Opening Convocation Friday, August 25
Fall Semester begins Monday, August 28    
Fall 1 Accelerated Term begins   Monday, August 28  
Fall A Intensive begins     Monday, August 28
Add/Drop course deadline Add: September 1 Add: September 1  
Refund policy Drop: November 10 Drop: September 29  
Labor Day 鈥 no class Monday, September 4
Fall A Intensive ends   Friday, September 23*  
Fall B Intensive begins   Monday, September 25  
Fall 1st-half-semester courses end Thursday, October 12    
Fall Break 鈥 no class October 13鈥16 October 13鈥16  
Advising days 鈥 no class October 17鈥18 October 17鈥18  
Fall 1 Accelerated Term ends   Saturday, October 21  
Fall B Intensive ends     Saturday, October 21
Fall 2nd-half-semester courses begin Monday, October 23    
Fall 2 Accelerated Term begins   Monday, October 23  
Fall C Intensive begins     Monday, October 23
Add/Drop course deadline Add: October 27    
Refund policy Drop: November 24    
Fall C Intensive ends     Saturday, November 18*
Fall D Intensive begins     Monday, November 20
Thanksgiving break 鈥 no class November 22鈥24
Fall semester last day of class Thursday, December 7    
Study Day Friday, December 8    
Exams December 9鈥14   December 9-14
Fall 2 Accelerated Term ends   Saturday, December 16  
Fall D Intensive ends     Saturday, December 16
Christmas Break December 15鈥揓anuary 14

 

2024 Spring Semester

Events 16–week semester, 7–week half-semesters 8–week accelerated term 4–week intensive
WINTER INTENSIVE: January 1鈥12      
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day 鈥 no class Monday, January 15
Spring Semester begins Tuesday, January 16    
Spring 1 Accelerated Term begins   Monday, January 15  
Spring A Intensive begins     Monday, January 15
Add/Drop course deadline Add: January 22 Add: January 22 Add: January 16
Refund policy Drop: March 29 Drop: February 16 Drop: February 3
Spring A Intensive ends     Saturday, February 10
Spring B Intensive begins     Monday, February 12
Spring 1st-half-semester courses end Friday, March 1    
Spring Break March 4鈥8
Spring 1 Accelerated Term ends   Saturday, March 9  
Spring B Intensive ends     Saturday, March 9
Spring 2nd-half-semester courses begin Monday, March 11    
Spring 2 Accelerated Term begins   Monday, March 11  
Spring C Intensive begins     Monday, March 11
Add/Drop course deadline Add: March 18    
Refund policy Drop: April 12    
Advising days 鈥 no class March 20鈥21   March 20鈥21
Good Friday and Easter Monday 鈥 no class March 29鈥揂pril 1
Monday night classes WILL meet      
Spring C Intensive ends   Saturday, April 6  
Spring D Intensive begins   Monday, April 8  
Spring semester last day of class Friday, April 26    
Exams April 27鈥揗ay 2 April 27鈥揗ay 2  
Spring 2 Accelerated Term ends   Saturday, May 4  
Spring D Intensive ends     Saturday, May 4
Commencement Saturday, May 4

 

2024 Summer Semester

Events 16–week semester, 7–week half-semesters 8–week accelerated term 4–week intensive
Summer Semester begins Tuesday, May 7    
Summer 1 Accelerated Term begins   Monday, May 6  
Summer A Intensive begins     Monday, May 6
Add/Drop course deadline Add: May 14 Add: May 14  
Refund policy Drop: July 19 Drop: June 7  
Summer A Intensive ends   Saturday, June 1  
Memorial Day 鈥 no class Monday, May 27
Summer B Intensive begins     Monday, June 3
Juneteenth 鈥 no class Wednesday, June 19
Summer 1st-half-semester courses end Friday, June 21    
Summer 1 Accelerated Term ends   Saturday, June 29  
Summer B Intensive ends     Saturday, June 29
Summer 2nd-half-semester courses begin Monday, July 1    
Summer 2 Accelerated Term begins   Monday, July 1  
Summer C Intensive begins     Monday, July 1
Independence Day break 鈥 no class July 3鈥5
Add/Drop course deadline Add: July 11    
Refund policy Drop: August 2    
Summer C Intensive ends   Saturday, July 27  
Summer D Intensive begins   Monday, July 29  
Summer semester last day of class Thursday, August 15    
Study Day Friday, August 16    
Exams August 17鈥22   August 17鈥22
Summer 2 Accelerated Term ends   Saturday, August 24  
Summer D Intensive ends     Saturday, August 24

 

*Calvin offers both face-to-face and online courses in the 8-week and 4-week format. Some courses meet at assigned times, while others are asynchronous. Break days are not specified for these courses; the professor may vary the intensity of class assignments as best fits the subject matter. Cumulative assignments/exams are part of the class and are typically due/administered on the penultimate or final day of class.

All dates are subject to change as necessary; last updated May 15, 2024.